What’s in a name?

In this written post I want to take the time to nerd out, in describing my character’s various names, and why she’s known as Fallaryn.

There are various uses and power in names. Fallaryn is aware of a number of them and takes care in deciding which name is shared with others. Most will be told of her Kilmessë, while some may be aware of her Epessë by reputation (mostly with dwarves). [The naming conventions here follow the traditions of Tolkien’s elves.]

  • Self-name or Kilmessë (a self-assigned public name, when in exile/disguise or for deeds/talents)
    • Fallaryn (Sindarin)
    • Faltaurien (Quenya)
    • Tawing (Nandorin)
      • Meaning: foam forest
      • A moreso public disguise sort of name in Fallaryn’s case, partly to trump magic regarding true names
  • After-name or Epessë (a public nickname or honorific given to an elf at some point in his or her life)
    • Celefúliel (Sindarin)
    • Telpesúriel (Quenya)
    • Silvindr (Old Norse)
    • Zigilbagd (Khuzdul) [given by the dwarves many centuries ago]
      • Meaning: silver wind
  • Father-name or Anessi (often the primary name of an elf and one of their true names, often assigned at or near their birth, until they choose to adopt an epessë given to them to use as their public name, then this name is mostly discontinued)
    • Sadorwen (Sindarin)
    • Sartanís (Quenya)
      • Meaning: steadfast woman
  • Mother-name or Amilessë (an elf’s true name assigned by their mother shortly after or within a few years of birth, whom have insight into the child’s character and abilities, sometimes prophetic in nature) [has public usage in Middle-earth but is kept private in other universes]
    • [nice try, fae!]

Father

Mother

  • Mírien (Quenya)
  • Mírwen (Sindarin)
  • Mîrilas (Nandorin) [precious leaf]
    • (mīrĭ + las)
      • Meaning:  treasured (feminine)

As you can see, for much of Fallaryn’s early life, she was known primarily as Sadorwen. Her parents were typically known as Fordal and Mîrilas.

Fallaryn

Now for the more mundane explanation of Fallaryn:

I made it up. In 2003. I was a child experiencing the early days of Neopets. I really enjoyed the Uni species. At one point I was having incredibly vivid dreams during a period that I was playing Pokemon Ruby. For some reason Fallarbor Town kept coming up, mixed with Unis, and some sort of dream concept. So my subconscious came up with flying unicorns with dark coats, flaming manes and tails, and they were the guardians of dreams.

After processing these dreams I felt compelled to make some roleplay out of it. I created a Uni named Fallarii (Fallarbor anyone?), and a sister, Fallaryn, which I didn’t create at the time because Fire Paint Brush was very much out of reach.

I joined Gaia Online in December 2003 and thought, hey, this is a chance for me to use Fallaryn. So I did. The name stuck and it followed me everywhere. All the way to Amtgard.

Shortly after joining Amtgard in 2012 I started learning Sindarin, and that’s when I realized, I accidentally invented a name that kinda fits Tolkien’s languages. It can mean foam forest, and how uncanny that Amtgard is about foam swords, and when reeves call “weapons in” during battlegames, all those weapons in the air can be interpreted as a foam forest, yes or yes?

Amazing.

In a very convoluted string of events over many years, my Amtgard persona name ended up way cooler than my mundane name.

Leave a comment